Matt | 14 August 2023

An In-Depth Look at the ISTQB® Certified Tester Foundation Level (CTFL) Version 4.0

The International Software Testing Qualifications Board (ISTQB®) has recently announced the release of the Certified Tester Foundation Level (CTFL) Version 4.0 course. Approved by a successful vote, this new version is designed to align with current software development and testing approaches, marking a significant evolution in the certification that is highly recognized in the software testing industry.

Updated CTFL 4.0 Release Package

The ISTQB Foundation in Software Testing ( CTFL )4.0 release package offers a comprehensive set of resources that include an updated syllabus, a sample exam, and revised exam structure and rules. The new syllabus offers a clear and structured learning path, while the sample exam provides a practical tool for candidates to prepare effectively. The revised exam rules ensure clarity and fairness in the evaluation process. These resources are designed to equip aspiring and professional testers with the necessary knowledge and skills to thrive in the ever-changing field of software testing.

Enhanced Syllabus and Learning Objectives

The updated syllabus of the CTFL 4.0 course covers 14 Business Outcomes and 64 Learning Objectives, providing a robust framework of knowledge for software testing professionals. The course content has been carefully curated to align with industry demands, with a focus on practical skills and real-world scenarios. These updates ensure that CTFL certified professionals can confidently meet the challenges of modern software testing and contribute effectively to their organisations.

Accreditation Guidelines for Training Providers

ISTQB® has emphasized the importance of training providers applying for accreditation to deliver CTFL 4.0 courses. This ensures the uniformity and quality of training materials across different providers, leading to a consistent learning experience for candidates. Additionally, the mandated instructional hours guarantee a comprehensive coverage of the course content, thus maintaining the high standards of the CTFL certification.

Upgrading to CTFL Version 4.0

For holders of previous CTFL certifications, there is no requirement to retake the exam. However, upgrading to version 4.0 is highly recommended to stay up to date with the latest skills and knowledge in the field of software testing. With the rapidly evolving technology landscape, staying current is crucial to maintaining a competitive edge in the industry.

Sunset Dates for CTFL 3.1 Certification

As we transition to CTFL 4.0, it’s important to note the sunset dates for the CTFL 3.1 certification. The English syllabus, exams, and accredited training will be phased out according to the timeline provided by ISTQB®. The sunset dates for other languages will follow suit. This information helps candidates and training providers plan accordingly, ensuring a smooth transition to the updated course.

In conclusion, the CTFL 4.0 course is a significant milestone in the evolution of the ISTQB® certifications. With an updated syllabus, revised exam structure, and enhanced learning objectives, it offers a comprehensive and current learning experience for software testing professionals. Whether you’re new to the field or an experienced tester, upgrading to CTFL 4.0 will equip you with the latest skills, knowledge, and best practices to thrive in your career. As the software testing industry continues to evolve, staying ahead means staying updated. Take the first step today!